February Student of the Month

March 15, 2018


Academic student of the month is a merit based recognition system, which means a student must meet one or more of the proper qualifications as observed and nominated by the faculty to receive the award. Those qualifications include exceptional performance in the classroom and academic realm, willingness to help others academically, leadership in the classroom, and improved academic performance. There is also an option for the teacher to select “other” during the nomination process and include an outside reason for their nomination of the student. All nominations remain anonymous. In the month of February 2018, two students stood out in this aspect: sophomore Ryan Haight and junior, Shaylor Whitham.

Haight was nominated for 3 of the five categories provided to teachers. Those included exceptional performance in the classroom and academic realm, willingness to help others academically, and leadership in the classroom.

The teacher who nominated Haight stated that he has always been a high achieving student and therefore didn’t feel the need to check the “improved academic performance” box.

“Ryan has been an outstanding student. [He] always gets his work in on time and is very polite,” they said. “[Ryan] always has a good attitude in my class.”

Haight commented saying that he “truly appreciates being nominated for this award.”

Shaylor Whitham was selected for the female student of the month based on all five of the given options.

The nominating teacher praised Whitham saying, “ Shaylor has shown a work ethic in my class that surpasses all others. She comes in after school and asks good questions to better her understanding of the material. She is a strong participant in class on a regular basis and I have often heard her encourage other students not to complain, or to come see me to get help if they are not understanding the material. Her grades have greatly improved in my class, and she is always very pleasant, even when she gets frustrated. I am very proud of her progress this semester and her diligence in taking responsibility for her own education.”

This is really great. I definitely didn’t expect this but I really appreciate being chosen!” Whitham said.

Students who also received nominations include Wyatt Reece, Justin Sievert,, Konnor Vohs, Abe Mawhirter, Austin Moore, Zac Norton, Dawson Detherage, Ben Wiedenmann, Piper Mills, Olivia Chase, Grayson Anderson, Jenna Ghannam, Liz Guzman Damian, Megan Gillogly, Hattie Harris, Bailey Sarna, Faith Seuferling, and McKenna Lewis.